UMC and Consolidation

I just read Adam Hamilton’s post on “General Motors and UMC” along with most of the comments. This post along with the tweet, “In the state of Kansas, 47% of UM churches had 0 professions of faith” quoting Bishop Jones from the Kansas West Conference reinforces my feelings that the church needs to prayerfully consider both the issue of discipleship and small churches.

Unlike most of the people who commented on Hamilton’s GM post, I am not a pastor. Nor do I attend a large UM church. I am a member of a small rural church in Kansas that is part of a 4 point charge. Even though we average between 40 and 50 in church each Sunday, we are the largest church in the charge.

Unfortunately, I don’t believe closing the churches will be successful if evaluated on the basis of advancing the kingdom of God. Most of these communities still remember school consolidation and see their church as an essential part of the community. They are linking the loss of the church to the loss of the community. I sincerely doubt that they would drive to my community for worship. Nor, would the members of my church be willing to drive to a neighboring community with a larger church for worship.

Thus, I think the denomination needs to find a compromise. I totally agree with most of the comments about the need for excellence in worship leadership. I also agree with Sam Fisher’s comment about the need for a personal connection with the pastor. With technology, it is possible to deliver the excellent worship experience. Would it be possible to utilize the ‘tent maker’ concept and technology to deliver worship in smallĀ settings while having the regional pastor to provide the human link? This would require a willingness of that regional pastor to “give up” some of the preaching in order to become more of a shepherd for the flock.

Perhaps the young clergy movement has the answer – PRAYING for the church!

2 thoughts on “UMC and Consolidation

  1. Yes, it is good to consider how we do discipleship in the small church. That is where I grew up, and I believe it can be a very effective place for connecting the people in the community to their faith.

    Tentmakers and circuit riders are important. Technology may also play a role. Through the Internet we can connect the needs of any community with the resources of another. What are your questions? What are your concerns? Where can the wider connection be of assistance? Let us know.

Leave a comment